Skip to main content

Administrator Leadership Awards

Karla Silvestre, 2022–2023 Administrator Leadership

Karla Silvestre

2022–2023 Administrator Leadership

Dr. Carolyn Terry, 2022–2023 Administrator Leadership

Dr. Carolyn Terry

2022–2023 Administrator Leadership

The Administrator Leadership Award provides an opportunity to recognize excellence in leadership among college administrators. The nomination period for the Administrator Leadership Awards commences each year in November, with the deadline for nominations on or about March 1 of the following year.

The deadline for FY/AY 2023–2024 nominations is Friday, March 1, 2024, at 11:59 p.m.

For detailed information on our awards policy and procedure, please refer to Recognition Awards - P&P 38001 (PDF, Get Adobe Acrobat PDF Reader.-Link opens in new window.) .


Awards Information

Administrator Leadership Award

The Administrator Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate the excellence in leadership among the College’s eligible administrators. The President, Senior Vice Presidents, and Chief of Staff and Strategy Officer are not eligible to receive this award.

Awards are non-monetary and consist of a collegewide recognition of the administrator’s service through a nominal gift (a plaque or keepsake) and a note to their personnel file.

The three award categories are:

  • The Excellence in Leading a Collegewide Initiative Award recognizes an individual for their role and accomplishments in leading a major collegewide initiative that advances the College’s mission, vision, and core values.
  • The Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated leadership in the creation, development, and/or implementation of new and transformational approaches and practices.
  • The Excellence in Serving Students Award recognizes an individual who has clearly demonstrated a passion for and commitment to supporting and advancing the needs and interests of Montgomery College students.

Announcement of Awards
Announcements and presentations of the awards will be made during the Spring Closing Meeting.


  1. Administrators may be nominated by peers or supervisors.
  2. All nominees will be reviewed by the Cabinet.
  3. Awards will be determined by the President upon the recommendation of the Cabinet. 


  1. A current administrator who has served in that role at the College for at least three (3) years is eligible for any one of the above awards.
  2. An administrator may receive the same award more than once, as long as at least seven (7) years have intervened.
  3. If an administrator has received one award, they may receive an award in another category as long as two (2) years have intervened.

Awards and criteria announced to all Administrators

March 1
Submission Deadline

Announcements and presentation of the awardees during the Spring Closing Meeting